Author bio

Kate Moore

Kate Moore - book author

Kate Moore is the author of books: The Radium Girls: The Dark Story of America's Shining Women, Felix the Railway Cat, The Radium Girls [Excerpt], Full Steam Ahead, Felix: Adventures of a famous station cat and her kitten apprentice


Author books

#
Title
Description
01

The incredible true story of the women who fought America's Undark danger

The Curies' newly discovered element of radium makes gleaming headlines across the nation as the fresh face of beauty, and wonder drug of the medical community. From body lotion to tonic water, the popular new element shines bright in the otherwise dark years of the First World War.

Meanwhile, hundreds of girls toil amidst the glowing dust of the radium-dial factories. The glittering chemical covers their bodies from head to toe; they light up the night like industrious fireflies. With such a coveted job, these "shining girls" are the luckiest alive — until they begin to fall mysteriously ill.

But the factories that once offered golden opportunities are now ignoring all claims of the gruesome side effects, and the women's cries of corruption. And as the fatal poison of the radium takes hold, the brave shining girls find themselves embroiled in one of the biggest scandals of America's early 20th century, and in a groundbreaking battle for workers' rights that will echo for centuries to come.

Written with a sparkling voice and breakneck pace, The Radium Girls fully illuminates the inspiring young women exposed to the "wonder" substance of radium, and their awe-inspiring strength in the face of almost impossible circumstances. Their courage and tenacity led to life-changing regulations, research into nuclear bombing, and ultimately saved hundreds of thousands of lives...

02
Full of funny and heartwarming stories, Felix The Railway Cat is the remarkable tale of a close-knit community and its amazing bond with a very special cat.

When Felix arrived at Huddersfield Railway Station as an eight-week-old kitten, no one knew just how important this little ball of fluff would become. Although she has a vital job to do as 'Senior Pest Controller', Felix is much more than just an employee of TransPennine Express. For her colleagues and the station's commuters, Felix has changed their lives in surprising ways.

Felix seems to have a remarkable ability to save the day time and again: from bringing a boy with autism out of his shell to providing comfort to a runaway child shivering on the platform one night. So when tragedy hits the team at Huddersfield, they rely on Felix to pull them together again. But it's a chance friendship with a commuter that she waits for on the platform every morning that finally gives Felix the recognition she deserves, catapulting her to international stardom...

Royalties from the sale of this book will be donated to Prostate Cancer UK (registered charity 1005541, SC039332).
03

Read the EXCLUSIVE extended excerpt of The Radium Girls...

For fans of Hidden Figures, Rise of the Rocket Girls, and The Girls of Atomic City comes the incredible true story of the women exposed to the "wonder" substance of radium and their brave struggle for justice.

During World War I, the young women who were hired to work in America's radium watch dial factories were considered the lucky ones. They were paid well, they got to work with the luminous element dubbed "liquid sunshine" that was all the rage, and they were helping the war effort by providing instruments that shone in the dark.

And their bodies literally glowed because of the amount of radium they were ingesting.

In her new book, The Radium Girls: The Dark Story of America's Shining Women, author Kate Moore gives voice to two groups of workers who became horribly ill and fought back against the companies that poisoned them.

Using diaries and letters from the women, their statements in court documents, medical records and archived x-rays, as well as using ancestry documents to track down their relatives for interviews, Moore showcases the forgotten young women whose legal fight led to life-changing workplace safety regulations amid one of the biggest scandals of America's twentieth century.

Preorder and find out how their story ends on May 2.

"This timely book celebrates the strength of a group of women, whose determination to fight improved both labor laws and scientific knowledge of radium poisoning. Written in a highly readable, narrative style, Moore's chronicle of these inspirational women's lives is sure to provoke discussion—and outrage—in book groups." —Booklist, Starred Review

"Moore's well-researched narrative is written with clarity and a sympathetic voice that brings these figures and their struggles to life...a must-read for anyone interested in American and women's history, as well as topics of law, health, and industrial safety." —Library Journal, Starred Review

04
THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER - AS SEEN ON THE ONE SHOW & GOOD MORNING BRITAIN

The charming follow up to the Sunday Times bestseller Felix the Railway Cat, packed with more exciting adventures from his life on and off duty at Huddersfield Railway Station.

'Full of funny and heart-warming stories, this is the remarkable tale of Felix and Bolt, the ultimate pest-controlling duo' Sunday Express

Felix, Senior Pest Controller at Huddersfield station, has been at the heart of a close-knit community since the day she arrived as a kitten.

But now, having risen to fame, everyday life at the station has become rather hectic; while reporters and fans clamour for a glimpse of her, Felix and her human co-workers find themselves, and the station, in quite a whirlwind.

With the job seemingly too big for one fluffy feline to handle, it seems only sensible to recruit a young apprentice to the team: enter, Bolt.

Full of funny and heart-warming stories, with personal tales from Felix's biggest fans, this is the remarkable tale of Felix and Bolt, the ultimate pest-controlling duo.

Praise for Felix the Railway Cat:

'The global sensation' Daily Telegraph

'A phenomenon' Big Issue

'The purrfect railway cat' Daily Express

Royalties from the sale of this book will be donated to Huddersfield Samaritans and Action for Children