Author bio

Nicola Monaghan

Nicola Monaghan - book author

Nicola Monaghan won a Betty Trask Award, the Authors' Club Best First Novel Award and the Waverton Good Read for her first novel, The Killing Jar. Her latest book is The Troll: The Boy with the Sliver of Ice in his Heart and is the first in a trilogy. She also wrote The Night Lingers and other stories, Starfishing and The Okinawa Dragon and has been published widely in newspapers, magazines and anthologies. She writes for screen too and is working on her first feature. She teaches Creative Writing at De Montfort University, as well as online at Udemy.com

Nicola Monaghan is the author of books: The Killing Jar, Starfishing, Dead Flowers, The Troll: Book 1: The boy with the sliver of ice in his heart, The Okinawa Dragon. Nicola Monaghan, The Troll: Book 2, The Girl who was Eaten by Stories, The Night Lingers and other stories, The Troll, Book 3: The man with a tale to tell, Finding A Voice, Law Express Question and Answer: Criminal Law (Q&A revision guide)


Author books

#
Title
Description
01
In her stunning debut, Nicola Monaghan lays bare the gritty underbelly of life in Nottingham, England.

Very early on, Kerrie-Ann begins to dream of the world beyond the rough council estate where she lives. Her father is nowhere to be found, her mother is a junkie, and she is left to care for her little brother. Clever, brave, and frighteningly independent, Kerrie-Ann has an unbreakable will to survive. She befriends her eccentric, elderly neighbor, who teaches her about butterflies, the Amazon, and life outside of her tough neighborhood. But even as Kerrie-Ann dreams of a better life she becomes further entangled in the cycles of violence and drugs that rule the estate.

Brilliant, brutal, and tender, The Killing Jar introduces a brave new voice in fiction. Nicola Monaghan's devastating prose tells an unforgettable story of violence, love, and hope.
02
It's 1997 and party girl Frankie Cavanagh has just started working in the City, experiencing life on the trading floor in all its sweaty, macho madness. She plunges headfirst into the frenzy of the financial markets as well as the drug-fuelled club culture: Frankie works hard, parties hard and gives as good as she gets.

But when she embarks on a dangerous, thrill-seeking affair with her married boss, Frankie begins to lose her grip. Just how far will she go for a dare? In this world of high-octane party nights and high-stake big money deals, a girl could get pushed too far...
03

She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.

Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.

Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...

A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.

Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019

--------------------

Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works

'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews

'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent

05
Jack sells expensive and rare gaming cards to rich collectors. Henri is a millionaire who wants the elusive Okinawa Dragon, a one-off card owned by a Japanese businessman who refuses to sell. A plan is hatched, and Jack is sent to Osaka to get hold of the card.
06
Three friends. A dark secret from their past. An internet troll threatening to tell the world.

Welcome to THE TROLL; the creepy, page turning psychological thriller series from the prize winning author of The Killing Jar. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

College lecturer Louisa, her friends Adam, an artist, and Kelly, a local radio presenter, have been targeted by an internet troll. SickMan knows everything about them. He knows that Adam’s still in love with Louisa, even though she’s married to his brother. He knows about Kelly’s weakness for a #5fingerbargain. And he knows what they did that summer back in 1991. He’s going to tell the world.

It’s one thing SickMan making threats from the other side of the screen, but when he appears in real life, sending gifts, watching them from across the street, paying for their drinks and leaving notes behind, it’s a whole different story. They’d go the police, if they didn’t have their own secrets to protect. They’d go and sort him out, if they were certain who SickMan was.

Can it really be Gary Bukowski, their old friend, back from the 'dead', the way it appears to be? Or is the truth even stranger than it first appears?

A tense, gripping read that will keep you guessing right till the last page.


Praise for The Killing Jar

"Utterly gripping reading about a "dead stormy" coming-of-age." (Booklist, starred review)

"A wrenching look at devotion, crime and violence." (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

"A shocking glimpse of Nottingham gangland" (Christina Patterson Independent)

"A wonderful novel... I am full of admiration" (Alan Sillitoe)

"A powerful, loving and honest new voice" (A.L. Kennedy)
08
Three friends. A dark secret from their past. An internet troll threatening to tell the world.

The terrifying climax of THE TROLL; a creepy, page turning psychological thriller from the prize winning author of The Killing Jar. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train

Radio presenter Kelly is beyond worried when her friend Louisa, a university lecturer, goes missing. She’s convinced her friend’s disappearance is all to do with an internet troll called SickMan who’s been targeting them for months. The same guy poisoned their artist friend Adam and broke into Kelly’s flat to leave a nasty surprise for her on the bed.

At first they thought SickMan was an old friend, Gary Bukowski, back from the ‘dead’, but Kelly’s not so sure anymore. It could be Gary but it could be Louisa’s jealous husband, Jack. It could be the new man in Kelly’s life, Paul, who seems too good to be true. She even has crazy moments of wondering if her own alter ego is to blame, like the guy out of Fight Club. No one is above suspicion, not even herself.

Sometimes the truth is even stranger than it appears.

The rest is tears>

A tense, gripping read that will keep you guessing right till the last page.