Author bio

Åke Edwardson

Åke Edwardson - book author

Åke Edwardson is a Swedish author of detective fiction, and a professor at Gothenburg University, the city where many of his Inspector Winter novels are set. Edwardson has had many jobs, including a journalist and press officer for the United Nations, and his crime novels have made him a three-time winner of the Swedish Crime Writers' Award for best crime novel. His first novel to be translated into English, in 2005, was Sun and Shadow. The second, Never End, followed in 2006.

Series:
* Inspector Winter

Åke Edwardson is the author of books: Frozen Tracks (Inspector Winter, #5), Death Angels (Inspector Winter, #1), Sun and Shadow (Inspector Winter, #3), The Shadow Woman (Inspector Winter #2), Never End (Inspector Winter, #4), Sail of Stone (Inspector Winter, #6), Room No. 10 (Inspector Winter, #7), Den sista vintern (Inspector Winter #10), Nästan död man (Inspector Winter, #9), Vänaste land (Inspector Winter, #8)


Author books

#
Title
Description
01
From the land of the midnight sun, a compelling and dark thriller by a master of crime fiction

The autumn gloom comes quickly on the Swedish city of Gothenburg, and for Detective Inspector Erik Winter the days seem even shorter, the nights bleaker, when he is faced with two seemingly unrelated sets of perplexing crimes. The investigation of a series of assaults and a string of child abductions take Winter to "the flats", the barren prairies of rural Sweden whose wastelands conceal crimes as sinister as the land itself. Winter must deduce the labyrinthine connections between the cases before it is too late and his own family comes into danger. Stylish, haunting, and psychologically astute, Frozen Tracks features characters who would be at home in any American procedural, but with a sensibility that is distinctly European. Frozen Tracks will appeal to fans of Henning Mankell and George Pelecanos, and to anyone who relishes superbly crafted crime novels.
02
Erik Winter joins forces with his British counterparts after a series of brutal murders of young men in London and his own city of Gothenburg. The killer, dubbed Hitchcock, appears to have filmed the butchery, as evidenced by traces of a tripod stand in the victims' blood.

The trail naturally leads into the seamy world of snuff films, but the big break comes from a burglar who noticed some blood-stained clothing in an apartment he broke into.
03
From the three-time winner of the Swedish Crime Writers' Award.

A couple are found murdered in their flat in Gothenburg, their bodies symbolically arranged in a mysterious and grotesque fashion. As Winter follows the trail of clues into the cult world of the gothic, he becomes enmeshed in a riddle of nightmares, where he must untangle good from evil and sun from shadow.
04
The second installment of the internationally best selling Erik Winter series

It's August and the annual Gothenburg Party is in full swing. But this year the bacchanalian blowout is simmering with ethnic discord spurred by nativist gangs. When a woman is found murdered in the park-her identity as inscrutable as the blood-red symbol on the tree above her body-Winter's search for her missing child leads him from sleek McMansions to the Gothenburg fringes, where "northern suburbs" is code for "outsider" and the past is inescapable-even for Sweden's youngest chief inspector. Psychologically gripping and socially astute, The Shadow Woman puts this master of Swedish noir on track to build an American audience on par with his international fame.
05
A gritty, bone-chilling masterpiece from the most acclaimed Scandinavian crime writer since Henning Mankell

It's summer in Sweden. As the coastal city of Gothenburg suffers through a heat wave, Chief Inspector Erik Winter broods over a series of unsolved rape-murders. The crimes bear an eerie resemblance to a five-year-old case that the mercurial detective has refused to let go cold. Has the same rapist reemerged to taunt him, or is a copycat at work? And can Winter find a common thread among the victims before there are more of them? With Never End, Åke Edwardson brings American readers another installment of the smart, suspenseful, atmospheric series that has won him legions of fans all over the world.
06
From bestselling Scandinavian crime writer Åke Edwardson—whose books are international sensations in Europe—comes this gripping novel of suspense and character involving two missing persons, two detectives, and a mystery dating to World War II.

A brother and sister believe that their father has gone missing. They think he may have traveled in search of his father, who was presumed lost decades ago in World War II. Meanwhile, there are reports that a woman is being abused, but she can’t be found and her family won’t tell the police where she is. Two missing people and two very different families combine in this dynamic and suspenseful mystery by the Swedish master Åke Edwardson.

Gothenburg’s Chief Inspector Erik Winter travels to Scotland in search of the missing man, aided there by an old friend from Scotland Yard. Back in Gothenburg, Afro-Swedish detective Aneta Djanali discovers how badly someone doesn’t want her to find the missing woman when she herself is threatened. Sail of Stone is a brilliantly perceptive character study, acutely observed and skillfully written with an unerring sense of pace.
07
A YOUNG WOMAN IS DISCOVERED hanged in a room in a decrepit hotel, and Gothenburg’s Chief Inspector Erik Winter must try to figure out what happened. As Winter looks around, he realizes that he was in the same hotel room many years earlier, when it was the last known location of a woman who subsequently disappeared and was never found. The two women seem to have nothing in common except for this hotel room, but Winter suspects that there may be other connections.

The young woman’s parents are bereft and unable to explain the puzzling contents of a note she left behind. Winter, however, senses that they are holding back some secret that might help him to find her murderer. As he pursues his hunch and digs into the old police report on the woman who disappeared—one of his first cases as a young detective—Winter becomes increasingly convinced that the two cases are somehow related. Room No. 10 is a first-rate thriller, suffused with the gray seaside beauty of Gothenburg and filled with the characters that Åke Edwardson’s readers have come to love: Winter, the veteran detective who veers between pessimism and optimism but never gives up; Bertil Ringmar, the methodical old-timer whose analytical mind keeps everyone focused; hotheaded Fredrik Halders, whose temper sometimes overwhelms his passion for justice; and Aneta Djanali, Halders’s girlfriend, an immigrant from Burkina Faso whose ability to talk to other women can open new leads. As compelling as they are dedicated, they are an unforgettable team determined to find a bizarre killer.
09
En gangster får sin nya bil rejält skadad. Han ser det som sin livsuppgift att spåra upp smitaren. En författare hyr ett avlägset hus för att få ro, men friden störs av grannen. Vår författare bestämmer sig för att prata med honom. Det kommer han att få ångra.
En frireligiös politiker försöker leva som han lär, men det är svårt leva upp till allt under Gud. En dag hittas han i säng med en död man vid sin sida.
En till synes vanlig medborgare ställs inför ett ovanligt val: begå mord, eller dö själv. En kriminalkommissarie börjar arbeta sig igenom en ovanligt vacker höst i Göteborg medan han funderar över hur man ger livet mening. Han lider av återkommande svår huvudvärk, men han vägrar undersöka orsaken till den. Nästan död man är en berättelse om fem män. Deras öden är sammanlänkade av en flicka som en gång försvann. De står alla inför döden, och kommer att förenas av döden.
10
Tre män mördas i en närbutik i en Göteborgsförort. Deras ansikten är bortsjutna.